Quantcast

me crank be a creakin'

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
No, not that one.

My cranks and/or BB have an issue. They creak and feel a little loose. I'm no mechanic, so should I just take my ride to the LBS or is there something simple I should try first?

BurlyShirley

Rex Grossman Will Rise Again
Jul 4, 2002
TN
What kind of crank/bb interface do you have?

If its splined or square taper, try cranking them down a bit.

Try removing the BB and regreasing the threads.

If its a new external BB, bearings could need replaced or relubed or again, threads greased. Make sure everything's tight and all that good stuff before you go paying some guy to fix something very simple

OGRipper

back alley ripper
Feb 3, 2004
NORCAL is the hizzle
If you're sure it's coming from your cranks and the arms are tight, it is usually one of three things: One of your bb cups is loose and/or dry where it threads into your frame, or the interface between the cartridge bb and the cup is dry (for square taper or ISIS), or you've got a loose chainring bolt.

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
I called an LBS and described the problem and asked when I could get my bike back. They said they couldn't tell me until they knew what the problem was, but I would probably get it back Saturday.

I said, "Saturday? No way I could get it back by Friday?"

They said they couldn't answer that without knowing the problem. I said, "assume worse case scenario other than frame damage."

They still couldn't answer me.

If I brought them my bike at lunch today (Monday), is it unreasonable for me to think that they should guarantee me my bike by end of day Friday?

BurlyShirley

Rex Grossman Will Rise Again
Jul 4, 2002
TN
I called an LBS and described the problem and asked when I could get my bike back. They said they couldn't tell me until they knew what the problem was, but I would probably get it back Saturday.