Quantcast

Mech Disks

Mar 22, 2005
Tektro IO mechanical disc, 6" rotor they are currently rubbing all the time and adjusting hte cables doesn't seem to help, by the time i get it not to rub, it's pointless, it takes until the lever is are my knuckes just to start to stop my wheels. the bike is almost brand new and came with them, 1 short muddy ride is pretty much it. I have noticed that the rotors arn't round or flat.

if someone would be nice enough to spend some time helping my on MSN or AIM you can get me at Chris7_99@hotmail.com or aebasher. thanks :thumb: :confused: :help:

:dancing:

rvlacich

Chimp
Jan 18, 2004
Maryland, USA
Those Tektros are pretty nice. I've found them to be fairly easy to work with. I'll try to explain this out in levels. I have no idea what your knowledge or skill level is, so I'll explain it as well as I can. This is probably a little confusing, but I'm trying to explain the operation of the brake and then the procedure to adjust them.

On these brakes, the inner (side by the wheel) brake pad does not move when the brake lever is pulled. The outer pad moves when you squeeze the lever. There are three bolts to be concerned with. The obvious one is the bolt that secures the cable down. The other two bolts attach the brake caliper to the adapter. Ignore the two bolts that attach the adapter to the frame.

To get these brakes set up, first you're going to need to align the caliper so that the rotor goes through the slot straight (not crooked). After that, you'll need to set up the pads so that they are spaced properly from the rotor.