Quantcast

mechanical vs. hydraulic discs

drumbum540

Monkey
Mar 24, 2008
Stephens City, VA
I am new to serious mountain biking and I am planning on getting a new bike. some of you know me as the annoying kid that posted the beginner bike help threads and the Gt avalanche threads. I am sorry about all that but I have a question. what are they differences/ pros + cons of mechanical or hydraulic disk brakes? thank you for any help.
-drumbum540

drumbum540

Monkey
Mar 24, 2008
Stephens City, VA
okay thank you for your help. My uncle told me that mechanicals are easier to keep up. but hydraulics have smoother braking. I was not sure if they really had a difference. thanks for your help serial midget. sorry for the annoyance.
-drumbum540

Monkey
for the longest time I swore by Avid BB7 brakes. But ever since I got a COde 5 front/Hayes 9 back setup, I'm pretty spoiled with the precision of the hydros.

I keep a set of the BB7 with levers as back up though, they are a breeze to install and set up.

zahgurim

Underwater monkey
Mar 9, 2005
lolAsia
You're a new rider, I say go with Avid BB7s.
They're a breeze to maintain, cheap, and you don't have to worry about ripping out hydro lines when you bail (and you will!).

After you've progressed a bit, go with a hydro setup. You'll appreciate the better performance more after you already have a feel for your bike and baseline to compare them to.

The BBs are great brakes. I still rock them on a play bike or two, while using Hope hydros where I want race-performance.

Aug 6, 2006
Denver, CO
If you startout with mechanicals, don't buy anything but the bb7's, as everyone suggests. Anything else will just be crap. Quality cables will go a long way with these brakes. Most shops will have odysee brand linear brake lines in stock, which work pretty well and are tough.