Quantcast

Menus in a web page, Help?

geargrrl

Turbo Monkey
May 2, 2002
pnw -dry side
Hi Gang, can you point me to some resources for how to make drop down ( mouseover) menus in a navigation bar? I am strictly self taught for web page stuff, and I don't even know the name of what I am trying to do.

Here's the site,
http://www.stevedeutschmusic.com/
I built it for my brother, and the navigation menu is just getting too big and cumbersome. I'd like to consolidate a lot of the items. Be nice to me, I know the index page needs some work - I had to throw a quick update on it as he just opened a storefront.

My most used resource is HTML 5 for the World Wide Web by Liz Castro, it's been a very good book to learn from. But like I said, I don't even know the name of what I need to do.

thanks for any help - pointers to a tutorial or ???

geargrrl

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
Well, let me first say that I generally hate drop down menus on webpages. They're typically not very well scripted and it makes them difficult to navigate - they often disappear when you don't want them to, or remain dropped down when you want them to disappear.

That said, there's a thousand pre-scripted javascript menus available, just start with google and type in "javascript menu". Results like this one come up:

http://www.softcomplex.com/products/tigra_menu/

You don't need to really understand much about the script to implement it, most come with step-by-step setups.

geargrrl

Turbo Monkey
May 2, 2002
pnw -dry side
Well, let me first say that I generally hate drop down menus on webpages. They're typically not very well scripted and it makes them difficult to navigate - they often disappear when you don't want them to, or remain dropped down when you want them to disappear.