Quantcast

Microsoft Frontpage

stosh

Darth Bailer
Jul 20, 2001
NY
Has anybody used it?

We have a very elementary webpage for our office and it needs updating. I've only ever done very simple webpage work before but I think I could do some reading and teach myself Frontpage. The reason I'm thinking about using Frontpage is because it's the only program I own for creating/editing webpages.

PS. I'm a total noob to creating webpages.

jimmydean

The Official Meat of Ridemonkey
Sep 10, 2001
Portland, OR
:stupid:

If you use Front Page, you can get stuck supporting the page with Front Page due to extensions and stuff that it will add to the page so you can't use anything else.

I have used BlueFish in the past (free) with great success, I am also not much of a web guy either. There are a few other free editors out there that would be better if you can find one you like.

stosh

Darth Bailer
Jul 20, 2001
NY
jimmydean said:

If you use Front Page, you can get stuck supporting the page with Front Page due to extensions and stuff that it will add to the page so you can't use anything else.

I have used BlueFish in the past (free) with great success, I am also not much of a web guy either. There are a few other free editors out there that would be better if you can find one you like.
Cool thanks for the heads up.

stosh

Darth Bailer
Jul 20, 2001
NY
What I really need is a super simple program. I thought frontpage was it.
I'm looking for a "cut and paste" type program, blue fish doesn't seem to be that way.

syadasti

i heart mac
Apr 15, 2002
VT
jimmydean said:

Depends on the site really. I had to maintain a frontpage financial site(I didn't create it :p ) and I used notepad to do most of my editing.

Ciaran

Fear my banana
Apr 5, 2004
So Cal
Stosh, don't listen to the geeks. It sounds like for what you are doing Frontpage should be fine. And yes you can still alter pages later without it.