Quantcast

Moto style brake levers and sore left hand

proworkz

Chimp
Aug 31, 2008
Reno, Nevada
This is my first year of DH. I ride a lot of moto so I did the "moto" style brake levers. I notice my left hand ( rear brake) gets really sore compared to my right hand. And I am right handed. Anyone else running moto style brake levers have a very sore left hand???

Maybe if I switch back to "normal" brake lever position my dominant right hand will not get as sore...

Thanks....

mccdh

Monkey
Sep 9, 2008
Comox
So....you're rear braking too much? Or more so compared to the front? Maybe brake more with the front to even it out, and you shouldn't need to brake AS much since the front will be more effective in slowing you down, if that is what you want to do. Most people over use the rear brake, me included. I think this makes sense.

NoUseForAName

Monkey
Mar 26, 2008
Completely unrelated to your brake lever setup.

Lot's of folks run 'moto' setup. Every British mtber for a start, and me personally.

I've broken my right hand (2 years ago), and even then there is no feeling of 'dominance' or weakness, even living in Whistler and doing multi lap garbo days,

Starting to ride DH a lot, on hard fast trails does take time for your hands to get used to, so just suck it up for a few more weeks before seeing the doc.

proworkz

Chimp
Aug 31, 2008
Reno, Nevada
Mc I will try the front a little more front. Maybe I should just ditch the brakes and slow down like the BMX'rs do with a foot on the tire..... LOL........ At least my hands would not hurt..... ha ha.

ojaiDH

Chimp
Jun 20, 2009
dream land
QUIT SKIDDING! use your front brake, you will have more control and be able to ride faster/longer with no "finger pump".

proworkz

Chimp
Aug 31, 2008
Reno, Nevada
How dominant could your right hand possibly be? Maybe get a girlfriend? (j/k!!).
I wonder if my wife would go for that.......... LOL......!!!:D