Quantcast

MTB Frame - your input wanted

mtbzone.com

Chimp
Jul 10, 2003
Bend, Oregon
So, let’s pretend I work for a bike company….this bike company is going to build a couple of mountain bikes for the 2005 season.

_

Bike #1 is going to be for the street thrasher/skate park/dirt jumper rider._ It'll have a full cromoly frame with horizontal dropouts and adjustable rear disc caliper mounts, peg mounts on fork, and be 1 speed (rear hub is 9speed with spacers)._

_

Bike #2 has an aluminum-tubed all-around frame with vertical dropouts with double front rings and bash guard (adaptable to a triple front) and a 9 speed rear cog…similar to a Santa Cruz Chameleon.

_

Please list up to 3 options/ideas/features for each model that are the most important to you. Any input is appreciated…..from the most general to the most specific ideas.

_

Thanks in advance!!

_

Mike
mtbzone.com

Assuming its a street bike:
1.durible/strong
2. good blanced geometry (im no expert on what geometry should be, but a good blance between easy to pick up and steer, and and stablity, in otherwords not to twichy, but not so stable it feels dead.
3. Light, i know i sound like a weight wennie pussy when i say this about a street bike, but it just makes the bike easyer to ride

oh also, i dont know where this fits in, but the ability to run SS or full gears.

RITFreeRider

Monkey
Sep 10, 2003
In a Boulderado state of mind
Street bike wise:

1- strong enough to take whatever is thrown at it, with a 1.5" headset

2- geometry setup for a 4-6" fork, shorter chainstays

3- not weight 7 lbs like some hardtails do that fit this build something that will build up to under 35lb

basically the samething that was said before. Oh and not and overly long headtube.

Echo

crooked smile
Jul 10, 2002
Slacking at work
I'm with RITFreerider on this one - put 1.5 headtubes on there and keep the headtubes reasonable in size... The Yeti AS-X has probably the perfect 1.5 headtube for example.

D_D

Monkey
Dec 16, 2001