Quantcast

My 24" BMX experiment

eaterofdog

ass grabber
Sep 8, 2006
Central Florida
I have been riding mountain bikes for 10 years and dirt jumping the last few years, all on 26" bikes. As I have gotten better with DJing, I wanted a smaller bike that I could whip and spin harder of the lip. I ended buying a 2008 DK General Lee. I rode it for a while and ended up upgrading the wheels and various other parts. I sold it a few weeks ago.

The bad.
• Crap brakes. Why, in the name of all that is holy, do BMX bikes still use U brakes? V brakes are about a 100X better. I realize a V brake can be damaged easier, but replacing it is cheap anyway.
•*No front suspension. Lack of front suspension is nice until you overshoot a jump (and your wrists hurt for a week) or you ride in a rougher area. Then it sucks balls. A few roots will bounce you right off the bike.
• Narrow tires. Not much room for tires larger than 2.0. So they will need to be pumped up tight, making the lack of suspension even worse.

I really wanted to like the Gen Lee. My problems all stem from riding in a rough area in the woods, rather than a groomed track area.

The good thing is I really liked the 24" wheels and shorter bike. I am now setting up a different 24 with 3" front suspension and the ability to run fat tires.

Axis

Monkey
Jun 9, 2004
U brakes when setup correctly are superior... (I am sorry I have had the best v brakes...).

This is especially true for tire taps, abubacas and fufanus.

ServeEm

Turbo Monkey
Feb 21, 2006
SacTown
sounds like you're not cut out for bmx and would be happier on a 24" mtn bike. different strokes for different folks. At least you know what you want.

chuffer

Turbo Monkey
Sep 2, 2004
McMinnville, OR