Quantcast

My 29'er has multiplied

BrickTop

Chimp
Oct 29, 2002
Durango, CO
If you remember recently I posted the pix of my new SS Karate Monkey. Such a cool bike....I really enjoying changing it up and taking it for a spin.

Fast forward - I've decided to compete in the Great Divide Race (I have some experience with solo 24s and 100s) next year and need a 29'er hardtail. I've ordered all the parts to convert the KM over to geared/front suspension. Well, last night a few things occurred to me:

1. I really hate to take this new SS and break it down right away. It's too fun.

2. After the race next year I have a box of unused parts after I convert the KM back to SS.

3. My main bike for trail riding is my Intense 5.5; I'm set there.

4. This leaves my Intense Spider, which I used to race on, hanging there collecting dust as I am poaching its crankset and I don't ride it much anyway and don't plan to.

*Insert Lightbulb*

Sell the Spider frame and Fox fork, keep the components for various backups, etc. and buy ANOTHER Karate Monkey frame for the geared/suspension build!!!! The KM frame is very inexpensive, so it makes a lot of financial sense as I will be selling a high end frame fork to recoop the costs. I have all but like one part to build up the new geared KM, so I'm pretty much set......and I get to keep the SS!!

So somehow I now will own (2) Karate Monkeys (one SS, one geared), (1) Intense 5.5 and (1) Santa Cruz Bullit.

I love it when a plan comes together.

N8 v2.0

Not the sharpest tool in the shed
Oct 18, 2002
The Cleft of Venus
BrickTop said:
If you remember recently I posted the pix of my new SS Karate Monkey. Such a cool bike....I really enjoying changing it up and taking it for a spin.