Quantcast

my super 8

ham069

Chimp
Mar 30, 2004
canmore
i'm kind of new to the forum so I just thought I would share my ride as I'm stoked for this riding season:D
changing the cranks to Diablous and the rear wheel to D321. The gazzis are going to go as well as they wash out too much:mad:

The Ham

B

bighitfsr

My house mate has cracked 2 super8 swing arms.
The 2nd one was a beefed up replacement swing arm.
He hasnt hit drops over 10ft and allways to a tranny.
The swing arm is really weak.
That swing arm cant handle side loads.

When he posted about his 1st swing arm failure on mtbr a guy replied claiming he'd cracked 12 swingarms in one season.

The good news is that SC are doing good deals on v10s for super8 owners. Just as well they should feel obligated to make things right.

ham069

Chimp
Mar 30, 2004
canmore
I have been riding it for 2 years and have yet to crack one swingarm but I have been warned about it so I go over the welds a few times a week. my shop is giving me a wicked deal on all the parts so i'm happy so far. if it does crack I will just lay down the cash and buy an orange or something similar. thanks for the heads up though and the comments.

The Ham

TWISTED

Turbo Monkey
Apr 2, 2004
Hillsboro
It's not the welds, they are fine. It was a problem in the design. Keep an eye on the web cross brace near the shock. The older web cross braces are flat, the updated ones are three dimensional.

ham069

Chimp
Mar 30, 2004
canmore
Originally posted by TWISTED
It's not the welds, they are fine. It was a problem in the design. Keep an eye on the web cross brace near the shock. The older web cross braces are flat, the updated ones are three dimensional.
alrighty thanks for the info. I always thought it would be at the weld, now i'm kinda worried.:(

The Ham

jackalope

Mental acuity - 1%
Jan 9, 2004
in a single wide, cooking meth...