Quantcast

my trip to Denali National Park (beware 56k - photos galore!)

Toshi

butthole powerwashing evangelist
Oct 23, 2001
as many of you know i'm a seattle resident, but i'm somewhat of a nomad this year. on july 2 i took off for fairbanks, alaska, and will spend 6 of the upcoming 12 months away from seattle in places including pocatello and boise, idaho, and jackson, wyoming (unfortunately not in the winter for the last). anyway, the point is that i'm in fairbanks, and thus in a great location to check out Denali National Park, one of the big ones remaining on my list after my 7345 mile national park-hopping road trip of summer 2003.

denali natl park website: http://www.nps.gov/dena/

without further ado, onto the photos:

link to all photos: http://tinyurl.com/qqgmf

me looking goofy with the antlers. there were a couple of "old people" taking photos like this, but it was mostly the domain of the 5 year old crowd :D

a vista from polychrome pass, 56 miles iirc into the park. the interior of the park is only accessible via buses, btw -- no private cars!

the light was rather flat and dull so i ended up snapping a lot of macro/flower shots. for the photo-monkeys out there these were with off-camera flash, at f/22, 1/250, ISO 800 typically, with the weapon of choice being the sigma 180 macro. here are three, then onto the next post since there's a 5 image limit?

Toshi

Oct 23, 2001
once again, the link to all photos:

http://tinyurl.com/qqgmf

beasties big and small were seen, albeit not too many of them given that i was in the park all day (arrived at 6:15 am, took the 7:30 bus, arrived at my destination about 62 miles into the park at 2 pm :dead:, hiked until 4, got back to my car around 8:30 pm).

here are a few that are hopefully self-explanatory, the last few of which were snapped with my old canon S30 after the big rig ate all its batteries in the cold:

stevew

resident influencer
Sep 21, 2001
Are you still driving the wrx?