Quantcast

NAS routers

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
Who is using one? I have been thinking about investing in one. I already have several spare hard drives sitting around (around 1TB total) so that's not an issue. I'm fairly new to these, so any input would be great. I mostly want it to just be a place to store music/movies/photos so Liz and I can access it from wherever we want, and also get stuff on the TV via PS3. I've read that some are setup to stream iTunes audio as well. Is this worthwhile? Other than that, things to look for / avoid?

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
NAS devices are great if you want to locate the box in a closet or if your main computer is often shut down or in some kind of flux (i.e. you're like me and often screw with your main computer until something breaks, or reinstall operating systems, or whatever).

If your main computer is pretty stable, though, it's by far the easiest/cheapest route to just create a network share off of your computer.

If you want a dedicated NAS setup, though, you have some options but keep in mind that this is an area where you get what you pay for. If you buy a dirt cheap NAS cage, you're going to be rewarded with slow transfer rates and sometimes flaky behavior.

Some thoughts:

- If you have a spare computer lying around and a place to put it, something like FreeNAS is going to be a great solution. Keep in mind that these little dedicated NAS boxes you buy have an embedded processor, memory and such. Even an old P3 box will be faster, so FreeNAS is a pretty robust system if you can get past the size of an old computer, and the fact that it'll generally be noisier than a NAS box. Unless you want to build a purpose-specific system that's small and quiet, which is definitely doable for not much money.