Quantcast

Need Group to Ride with - RIT

caleberx

Chimp
Jun 18, 2009
Rochester, NY
I attend RIT, I was wondering if there are any group riders that I could hook up with. I am riding alone, but I have no car so I am very limited where I can ride. I was wondering if there are any groups that go to ride, that I could hook up with.

Kit

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
Well, when it comes to DH you're pretty much SOL. That region of NY is just too flat. There's a few spots scattered around the city where there were once some freeride rips, but those are long gone. If you do perchance to meet up with someone with vehicle access, there's a group that runs shuttles down at the Swain ski resort - about 90 minutes from campus.

In the immediate area to campus, there aren't any xc trails I'm aware of. But they may have changed. I graduated in 2007 so there might be some new trails, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Your best bet would be to try and meet someone with vehicle access. Just ride around campus and watch for people on bikes, you'll know when you see them.

There are some really good xc trails within a short (~45min) drive of campus. Dryer Road is probably the best game in town. They've got a great trail network that is well maintained. It's right down the street from Trailblazers Bike Shop - I think you still have to stop there to sign the waiver to ride the trails. The shop is definitely worth stopping at anyways. Victor, the owner, has the best MTB selection in town. Plus, he rides a ton and is a straight up guy. I still come back to rochester from time to time and I make a point to stop in and say hi.

Last I heard some of my friends had built a pump track and a few jumps there too. Its east of campus in the town of Victor (yes, I know its a weird coincidence that Victor runs a shop in Victor).