Quantcast

Need help deciding on brakes for my DH

What brakes to get?

• Total voters

Total Heckler

Beer and Bike Enthusiast
Apr 28, 2005
Santa Cruz, CA
I am trying to decide on what brakes to get and need some help. I have been running the same Saints on all of the DH bikes since 2004. It is time to upgrade.

The choices are:

-Formula: The One
-Magura: Louise
-Avid: Codes

Thoughts? Experiences? Lets hear about it.

jonKranked

Detective Dookie
Nov 10, 2005
media blackout
Formula: maintenance is a bit more tricky than most. Parts availability can be a headache. Eats pads. Crazy powerful even with one finger (all this is 2nd hand info, but from multiple sources - though I have done a few runs on them and I can confirm the powerful 1 finger braking part). Expensive.

Codes: old ones: super heavy, but powerful. New ones: ???

Any reason why you don't wanna upgrade to the new style saints? Everyone I know with them raves about them.

frorider

Monkey
Jul 21, 2004
cali
i just posted a longer answer on the other Brakes thread.

I have 4 sets of formula brakes on my bikes, incl the 2010 Ones, and just bought a pair of The One FRs for another bike. For around $500 you can get ONes w/ rotors and adaptors from several online places so the price is not bad.

Bleeding the Oro series is about as easy as bleeding Juicy's, and uses the same kit. Oro M/Cs have to be facing upward, so I usually strap a handlebar vertically to the headtube on the frame. The new Ones now have bleed ports located so you can bleed easily w/the M/Cs on the bar (i haven't bled them yet...the factory bleed was perfect, as always seems to be the case w/ Formula).

I've owned Hayes, Hopes, Magura, Avids, Formula...in my experience, the maintenance on Forumula brakes is less frequently needed i.e no sticky piston issues, no frequent re-bleeding to keep things feeling crisp.

Total Heckler

Beer and Bike Enthusiast
Apr 28, 2005
Santa Cruz, CA