Quantcast

Need help reducing chain slap

Rhubarb

Monkey
Jan 11, 2009
I am no expert at setting up a drive chain but I am able to get it pretty dialled. I have a Knolly Delerium and while I have noticed a reasonable amount of chain slap while descending I just recently noticed there was a fair bit of wear right at the rear pivot. I have tubing wrapped around the chain stay but I cant run it right over the pivot etc. I was wondering why it would be so bad right near the cassette so I pushed down on the chain above the chainstay and noticed it felt pretty slack.

I have set my chain to the recommended length and removing an additional link would probably be pushing the limit of the rear deraileur when in the highest gear on the cassette. I am running a medium XT deraileur and 32t front ring. With the chain in the highest gear the tension on the deraileur is obviously much better but this is not where I spend 95% of my time. The chain will obviously sit higher off the chainstay too.

There are 2 things I can identify:
The rear deraileur doesnt generate enough tension.
The Hope Pro 2 cassette has alot of movement between engament points.

I am not sure how to determine if I can run a short cage deraileur and I am not sure if my reasoning on the lack of engament points on the Hope hub has a contributing factor. Maybe the Hope springs also do not have enough tension.
I have already put some thought into trying a better hub. While I have been running Hopes for years I figured I woudl try something better to see what it would be like, Hope free hub bodies also notch real easy.

Anybody got some suggestions?:thumb:

Last edited:

big-ted

Danced with A, attacked by C, fired by D.
Sep 27, 2005
Vancouver, BC