Quantcast

Need new laptop - long question

ohio

The Fresno Kid
Nov 26, 2001
SF, CA
Situation is Heathrow security broke my IBM t42 in half (literally) this spring. I've gotten by without a personal computer since then, but am starting to really need one as I look at possible working elsewhere next year. So I need a new laptop, but everyone offers a dizzying number of model numbers that I can't tell the difference between. I would love to go Mac, but I'm a PC power-user by trade (live on excel and ppt) so don't think I can unless I run parallels on a Powerbook which is unfortunately out ofmy price range.

USE
Will be using it for business and personal. May be overseas (Shanghai) next year. Current company is on HP which has left me with some pricey accessories (dock and batteries), previous company was on IBM/Lenovo which left me with the extended battery.

At home, it WILL be a music server but I think anything with wireless and a hard-drive can cover that.

I am not friendly to laptops and have been through roughly 6 HPs in the last 2 years depending on how you count harddrives vs chassis. However, my previous Thinkpad (T42) lasted two years of similar abuse or worse and never flinched. I am STRONGLY partial to Lenovos as a result.

I'm adept enough to upgrade hard-drives and memory myself, immediately or down the road as needed.

SOFTWARE MIN RQTS
I own my own licenses to XP Pro and Office 2007 Pro, and plan to wipe the laptop clean of Vista upon purchase.

Will probably run Adobe consumer versions of PS and Illustrator

HARDWARE MIN RQTS
I would really really really like my next laptop to have DVI output rather than VGA. Will be using it dual-screen at home with a 22" 1650x1050 display most of the time, and hooking up to 720p projector sometimes.

Definitely want a high-res display and think a 14.1" WXGA+ fits the bill. LED backlighting would be nice for battery life.