Quantcast

Need some advice on XC wheelset

Jan 29, 2005
I've been riding on my stock xc wheels for almost 3 years now, and they're about cooked. Looking for some nice wheels, either as a pre-built set or hub/rim combo. 6 bolt and UST would be ideal. I am really not very tough on my wheels simply because of my light weight, however, i do pull some riding style from dh, so i don't want anything that rides like a wet noodle. Price isn't too much of an issue, I9s or anything at that price are just too expensive, but you get what you pay for, so a quality set of wheels that last is imperative, even if they're on the expensive side. Thoughts?

JRogers

talks too much
Mar 19, 2002
Claremont, CA
There are tons of wheels that would fit into that description...a bit more info would be helpful....

For hubs, I9s are good, as are any offerings from Chris King, Hadley or DT Swiss. For rims, I think that 819s are a good bet. Lighter than the 823s and plenty strong for most people. I have been using 819s for a while; had them mounted up on my Giant VT and now a different set on my Prophet. Both performed flawlessly.

Some prebuilts from Mavic might fit the bill; there are some new ones for '07. Hub/rim combos, however, are generally cheaper, easier to get parts for and sometimes more reliable.

Bikebro

Chimp
Apr 13, 2005
I can't say enough good things about Mavic wheels and their support. They just work but when **** happens its easy to get parts. All the middle to high end wheels from Mavic are new this year. The top of the line model is lighter then the new XTR set and looks great.