Quantcast

Need to now if this setup is goood!?

spyder_egg

Chimp
May 20, 2006
Hey boys, im just getting into biking. I need to know if this setup is alright for a mostly X-country with some jumping setup..

FRAME Santa Cruz Chameleon
FORK Manitou Mars 80mm
BAR/STEM RaceFace
BRAKE Shimano Pads
CRANK RaceFace
PEDAL Specialized Clip-ins
RIMS Shimano MH-575
FRT. DER. Shimano XTR
RR. DER. Shimano XTR
SHIFTER Shimano XT
SADDLE RaceFace
SEAT POST RaceFace
BIKE WEIGHT 22 LBS

PLEASE tell me what this bike is worth aswell..in Canadian or US funds. Thanks, i need to know soon!

Thanks

Bicyclist

Turbo Monkey
Apr 4, 2004
SB
For XC it sounds good but definately not for jumping with that fork. The Mars would be my last choice for jumping. However, if you changed the fork it could do some jumping. I would say it's probably worth about $650.

You may also want to upgrade to disc brakes. And make sure it's the right size.

Good luck!

PatBranch

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2004
wine country
You could get something like an old Marzocchi z1 which would be good for anything. Even, an EXR would be good- not the best, but solid and better than that manitou. If you are tight on money, you should get a used or even slightly used fork. That way, you can get something bettwe for less money, if its in good condition.

Those may be a little heavy for XC, so maybe someone else has some inexpensive ideas.

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
This sounds like an older Chamelon, the ones which broke when dj'ing with a 125mm fork...

blue

boob hater
Jan 24, 2004
california
A Chameleon at 22lbs, especially with those wheels? I don't think so... :think:

Complete, I'd peg it at $500. Most of the value is in the frame.

BurlyShirley

Rex Grossman Will Rise Again
Jul 4, 2002
TN
spyder_egg said:
Wow, why so low of a price??

So you guys are only saying that this bike is worth $500-$650??
Is everything brand new?