Quantcast

Nerds, tell me about ubuntu.

Pesqueeb

bicycle in airplane hangar
Feb 2, 2007
Riding the baggage carousel.
So I'm thinking about building myself a new computer. I would like to build myself a dual boot system to help get away from the reliability/security issues with microsquash. I'm a gamer otherwise I'd just go mac. I'm mildly computer literate. I've built several machines and can most times trouble shoot and fix software/hardware problems on my own with help from Google. I have zero knowledge of Linux/ubuntu.
Positives/negatives? Input?

SkaredShtles

Michael Bolton
Sep 21, 2003
In a van.... down by the river
Your reasons for wanting to run Linux are not compelling enough for me to recommend running Linux. You might better learn how to make Microsoft more reliable/secure since you already know something about it.

And I am a former (an possibly future) Unix/Linux admin. I don't run Unix/Linux on any of my own systems...

trees4me

Chimp
Apr 16, 2009
my home pc finally kicked the bucket, and so I grabbed a friends' spare machine which was loaded only with Ubuntu. That was about 6 months ago... I find I don't do that much at power computing at home anymore, I do it all at work, so a crappy linux system is mostly sufficient.

It was surprisingly easy to adjust to, probably easier than switching to Vista :mad: I've found that if you don't ask too much of Ubuntu then it works great. However, when you want to do something slightly abnormal then it's a real time sink. eg dual monitors were a nightmare...

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
I've found that if you don't ask too much of Ubuntu then it works great. However, when you want to do something slightly abnormal then it's a real time sink. eg dual monitors were a nightmare...
This is the biggest problem with Linux. Out of the box it works very well. If you want to do something that's not built into the stock functionality, though, it's horribly complicated.

jonKranked

Detective Dookie