Quantcast

network key?

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
My girl has a laptop and a Linksys wireless router. Until I moved my PC in, she was wired from laptop to router. Now I want to set my desktop PC as the main computer and make her wireless-ready laptop, umm, wireless.

She doesn't have the packaging for the Linksys and doesn't know what the network key is.

How can I find it?

What would happen if I pressed the "reset" button on the router? Could I enter in a new key?

TIA!

LordOpie

MOTHER HEN
Oct 17, 2002
Denver
uhh, no?

It's pretty wierd to see neighbors on the wireless system. Some guy 9 blocks away is in my network list. Also, there's an unsecured network available to me... do ya think it's a neighbor or a local business, like a coffee shop with WiFi?

I'm new to this, so neato.

BurlyShirley

Rex Grossman Will Rise Again
Jul 4, 2002
TN
We stole it from an apartment complex behind our house for a while. It was great, but spotty. Eventually ended up just getting our own.

Tell her to fix it, and then get you a beer.

bpatterson6

Turbo Monkey
Jul 1, 2004
Colorado
LordOpie said:
uhh, no?

It's pretty wierd to see neighbors on the wireless system. Some guy 9 blocks away is in my network list. Also, there's an unsecured network available to me... do ya think it's a neighbor or a local business, like a coffee shop with WiFi?

I'm new to this, so neato.
If you press reset, all it will do is default the Router back to factory presets and you can reconfigure the network with a new key along some other things you or may nor be using already. To not share your network ID with everyone, after pressing rest and logging into the router using the admin console, Disable the Advertise SSID, Choose Custom SSID, and then use encryption so you are encrytping your signal between the computer and router.
Good Luck.

syadasti

i heart mac
Apr 15, 2002
VT