Quantcast

New Body Armor

mtnbiker7

Monkey
May 22, 2007
New Jersey
Most of you already read my thread about graduating 8th grade. I'm using the money I got to buy new body armor. What would you reccomend out of the following suits. 661 Comp Suit, RockGardn Flak Jacket and the Fox Launch suit. I'm new to dh so I will proably be taking a few bad crashes.

Zark

Hey little girl, do you want some candy?
Oct 18, 2001
Reno 911
Glad to see a young'n see the value of armor. I see way too many groms at the races get thrashed for the fashionista "Too cool for armor" look.

I've got an '06 Roackgardn flak jacket that's served me well and didn't break the bank. Have fun out there.

Spahman

Monkey
Dec 13, 2006
Arlington
psht
he's young.. when I fell when I was that age. it was always right back up

getting old sucks

but props to for wearing the armor!

Timekiller

Monkey
Oct 9, 2006
NJ
I just got a RG FlakJacket., first use will be this weekend @ diablo. But fits extremely well, and is pretty comfortable.

jcook90

Turbo Monkey
Mar 3, 2006
Connecticut
The flak jackets a pretty beastly suit, it protects well but its a little bulky. Saved my liver/intestines once at Plattekill.

Secret Squirrel

There is no Justice!
Dec 21, 2004
Up sh*t creek, without a paddle
I'm currently running the '07 RG Flak Jacket. It rulz. Ran the '06 for a season and then upgraded...they seem to be getting better and better year after year. I love mine. Saved me so many times at Whistler last year it's not even funny.

The '07/'08 version breathes way better than the '06 for sure.

sperkins

Monkey
Feb 26, 2008
i think it is great that you are wearing armor! so many people do not understand all the value that it has.

PatBranch

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2004
wine country
I have the old style flak jacket. It works well, but is definitely warmer than the new style. They all fit a bit different, so try a few on. All the 661's I tried on were too big for me for some reason...

RideRMB

Monkey
Aug 29, 2007