Quantcast

new family and holidays

slowSSer

mnoeky
Aug 14, 2002
Stepford
ok, :monkey: family types:

how do you deal with holidays? here's the situation: the gf and I are living together and going to be getting married sometime in late 2005. :love:

the engagement is really unofficial, as we're trying to get into our own place next week (these roommates suck) and $ is tight. so, a holiday such as thanksgiving is huge for both our families.

how do we decide where to go?

the hard part is that i've got a 95 year old grandmother and my gf only has a mom. turkey day with both fam's together isnt the best idea. but, that's a story for another day.

we do know that down the road when we've got our own grommets, the holidays will turn into "wanna see us for the holidays? we'll be at our home". selfish, but easier to do wtih kids.

thanks people.

JSB

Monkey
Apr 8, 2004
Flower Mound, Texas
I've been doing this for 9 years this December. Trust me it never gets easier. Yours might not be as bad because you can always have her mothr join your family. In my case both our parents live in the metro. Plus eveyone on my moms side except one lives in the metro. My dads side never really gets together, due to a family fued. My wifes side has grandma, and the rest of her moms side flys in from out of state for Christmas. Her dads side flys in for thanksgiving. Some where around the second week of November her mother calls. So are you all coming over for thanksiving to see everyone. My mom does the same. What's hard is my moms side gets together for both holidays. Where my mother inlaws side getting together for xmas, and my father inlaws side gets together for thanksgiving. So if we split the holidays we always miss some one on the wifes side. Plus we get the guilt trip. It's a constant nightmare, and it makes you hate the holidays. We've tried splitting the days in half, but the one you leave always says you didn't stay long enough. And don't think kids will help you, because the