Quantcast

New Macs..... WHOAH!

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by BigMike, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    So Mac just announced their new stuff. It includes a new line of Powerbooks, with better resolution and battery. What I'm really interested in is the new QUAD CORE G5!!

    Just for fun, I built oen on the 'net, quad core G5, 16GB ram, 1TB Hard drive, 2 30" monitors, and all the other goodies, and it only came to $23,469 :eek:

    Just think of the possibilites, final cut studio would run flawlessly, as will Adobe CS2. :drool:
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. lovebunny

    lovebunny can i lick your balls?

    Rep/Likes:
    7 / 31
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    7,237
    Location:
    San Diego, California, United States
    23k for a computer? faack
     
  3. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    LOL, only $23k huh...

    Although, CS2 runs fine on my <$1000 home built PC. ;)
     
  4. HRDTLBRO

    HRDTLBRO Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Apt. 421
    mmm...final cut pro...I'm using pinnacle right now, but my brother has final cut on his G4, and it's wonderful. How i'd love to have an apple for that reason alone.
     
  5. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Yeah, but that includes two of the 30" apple displays :drool:

    You can get a quad core starting at $3299, which is still steep, but for a quad G5...... not that bad. That plus one of those cheap Dell monitors, and your set.
     
  6. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    I just pumped one up with no monitors, 1tb HDD, and 16gb of ram. $17 823.
     
  7. firetoole

    firetoole duch bag

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Location:
    Wooo Tulips!!!!
    mmmmm new apple's :drool: :drool: :drool: :drool: :drool:
     
  8. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    I wonder if its physically possible to use 16 Gigs of RAM. I mean, what programs could use even a third of that?
     
  9. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    185 / 1,499
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    25,498
    photoshop + high res images. database programs with large databases -- anything that can be cached is beneficial...
     
  10. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Any video or photo editing software, given a large enough file.

    Try outputting some HD dvd files for a full 4.3gb DVD...I am sure you can use it all.

    I know PS CS2 will use it all for scratch discs as well as operation memory. Hell i blow through 2gb in about 2 seconds working on large tiff files.
     
  11. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    258 / 2,193
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,543
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Have you been paying attention for the last 10 years? :think:
     
  12. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    Yeah, I know, but that just blows my mind. Somthing that can use 16 gigs of RAM? Thats amazing. I want one, bigtime! :D
     
  13. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    the funny part is apple wants 11k for 16gb of ecc ram (8 2gb sticks). You can get that for about $1400 from crucial.
     
  14. dwaugh

    dwaugh Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,816
    Location:
    Bellingham, Washington ~ U.S.A.
    Sounds nice, slightly way overpriced, but the fact remains that it's a Mac! :dead: hahahahahaha
     
  15. jimmydean

    jimmydean The Official Meat of Ridemonkey

    Rep/Likes:
    182 / 1,657
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2001
    Messages:
    29,125
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    When I was testing the newest Intel boards (at Intel) that support 8gb of ram, I had to write my own tests that would address out that far because there are no commercial programs available that are built to support that much memory. Photoshop doesn't see it as avaialbe space because the OS isn't built to support it. Even if the next rev of OS 10 supports it, I think you would still have to rebult PS to acess it. I could be wring since I don't know Mac OS.

    Just my $.02
     
  16. Tenchiro

    Tenchiro Attention K Mart Shoppers

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    5,407
    Location:
    New England
    That my friend is the one thing you can always count on Apple for. I worked for them for a few years back in the mid 90's and can assure you that they do their damndest to mark up stuff as much as they can get away with.

    At the time, if you needed to replace a motherboard on any PC it would run you about $1000. Need a new display for your laptop? $1000. :rolleyes:

    It gives their users the sense that they are in an exlusive club. :monkey:
     
  17. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    258 / 2,193
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,543
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    I was thinking more along the lines of running about 40 applications at the same time. :D
     
  18. kinghami3

    kinghami3 Future Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Ballard 4 life.
    eh, I've got 9 programs going right now including OS X and it's running fine on my eMac with 640 megs. Given I'm not running anything like PS, but I'm thinking something like 80 before it pops a sweat. That is one sweet machine that will sound like a jet engine mounted on you desk.
     
  19. merrrrjig

    merrrrjig Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,727
    Location:
    Mammoth Lakes, Ca
    4 gigs of RAM max is all you need! I want a max computer so bad! Those little mini macs are even above my price range :(
     
  20. macko

    macko Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    THE Palouse
    My 3 year-old eMac starts sweating if I've got too many apps open, but then again I like push the 'ol boy a bit too hard sometimes.
     
  21. caputo1989

    caputo1989 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,259
    Location:
    Too many Tourists COLORADO the place being taken o
    I run an old clamshell I-Book with OSx and I need to plug into an external HD to run FS and FS is the only program stored in the Ext..
    I know of someone that runs a G5 w/ 6 :eek: externals.
     
  22. mcA896

    mcA896 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    Cape Cod, MA
    yuck, computers. go riding.
     
  23. kinghami3

    kinghami3 Future Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Ballard 4 life.
    I feel ya, bro. Damn good computer; solid as hell. Sure I can't run Doom 3, but I don't have the time. It'll last me another 4 years at least.
     
  24. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    I disagree. Currently on my desktop PC (with 4gbs of ram) I have Photoshop CS2, Image ready CS2, Illustrator CS2, indesign CS2, C1 pro and a a few other things running (word, outlook, messaging clients , firefox etc).

    It is beginning to choke and C1 isn't currently doing anything. When i crank up C1 and it starts to output 38mb Tiff files, i need to start to close things down. (At the very least close down firefox with 4-5 tabs open).

    And yes for those who ask, this is my usual MO. Processing photos while working on web crap while it runs along in the BG.

    On my powerbook (1.67 with 2gb of ram) I can start to choke it at C1 pro and photoshop cs2 along with adium running.
     
  25. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.

    read above ^^^^^

    C1 pro would kill that computer on it's own.
     
  26. kinghami3

    kinghami3 Future Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Ballard 4 life.
    I have no doubt of that. If I had wanted to do graphics I wouldn't have gotten an eMac.; all I do is write papers, use Adium, and surf the web, and listen to iTunes, and for that it is excellent. And still when I want to use GIMP, it can hold it's own, though I've been bogging it down with about 40 gigs of random UNIX apps and crap, so I'm in the process of cleaning it out.
    I meant 80 programs before a PowerMac Quad with 16 gb of ram breaks a sweat. Speculative and off the top of my head, but what's life without speculation? We'd have nothing to argue about.
     
  27. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Gotcha..well throw in some nice mem hugry apps and you could probably do it in about 15 or so max..especially with larger images. processing big images gets my powerbook down.
    ha
     
  28. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    What is C1?

    I am currently enjoying my Powerbook G4, which they also updated today. I'm playing Doom 3 on it, which they say can't be done :D

    And yes, Apple is historically known for raping people, especially on RAM
     
  29. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Apple ram prices are absurd, i would have to agree. love crucial.

    I am upset about the PB updates, mine is 30 days old. I could have saved $140 AND got a free superdrive, and better video card. Oh well, such is technology.

    C1 is a raw photo processing suite by phaseone.com It is the standard for digital darkroom type applications.
     
  30. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD

    Yeah, mine is like 45 days old.... I feel you.

    I want me a copy of this C1 program.... sounds good to me!
     
  31. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD
    I'll take one of those 39 MP cameras too :eek:
     
  32. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Phase one specializes in selling digital backs for medium format film cameras. That is ONLY the back, for $20K
     
  33. LordOpie

    LordOpie MOTHER HEN

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    Messages:
    21,033
    Location:
    Denver
    Isn't that a lot more processing power than what's currently in the space shuttle?
     
  34. bballe336

    bballe336 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    MA
    i wish I could afford one of these new g5's. my dual g4 is fast but i cant even begin to imagine what these g5's can do.
     
  35. Transcend

    Transcend My Nuts Are Flat

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    18,045
    Location:
    Towing the party line.
    Yes. Nasa runs around trying to find sourcing for obsolete processors for the shuttles as they are no longer in production and growing scarce.

    I believe the shuttles just recently got all glass cockpits (multi function LCS displays instead of guages).
     
  36. MtnbikeMike

    MtnbikeMike Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,639
    Location:
    The 909
    Seems that there are a few bike companies that could replace "Apple" and the description would still fit... :devil: :p
     
  37. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD

    Yeah, I know, My friend has a Medium Format that I want to steal and get one of those :D
     
  38. ZoRo

    ZoRo Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 8
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Montréal, PQ
    Indeed superior computers!!!!
     
  39. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    258 / 2,193
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,543
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    I rest my case.

    The rest of you are lightweights. ;)
     
  40. SkaredShtles

    SkaredShtles I love NEWCASTLE and will ONLY drink NEWCASTLE!!!!

    Rep/Likes:
    258 / 2,193
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    47,543
    Location:
    In a van.... down by the river
    Yup. We've got a machine at work that has 12 dual-core CPUs with 96GB of memory.......