Quantcast

new notebook??

Yeti

Monkey
May 17, 2005
yeti cave@the beach
Hi,
i'm a mech engineering student and i only have a laptop. currently it is an hp pavillion with 1gb of ram, a pentium4 3.2Ghz, 17" widescreen, and an ati X600 mobile with 256mb of ram.
right now i ve been using this one for a year and 3 months. it s a very strong notebook but not very portable, since it s over 3kg, it s noicy, gets really hot and the battery only lasts 1.5h...when i bought it...now it s noicier and the battery is dead.
i will keep it as a desktop pc, cause it s not worth selling it.
in a few months if everything turns out good enough i will get enough money to get a new laptop....in the best of cases my budget will be around 3k and if not around 2k. i need a good graphics card to be able to run unigraphics cad nx4, matlab and mathematica on it. also some games. at least 15" of screen. 2gb of ram....and harddisk is not really a problem.....just over 80gb is allright. intel core duo also nice....and most importantly: light, long battery life and silent.
doing some research i found the macbook pro to fit my wishlist pretty closely. my question is how good it runs on windows?....i don t really need to use nx4 on the go, so if the macbook pro runs badly on windows i would only use nx4 on my current notebook at home.
so any feedback is appreciated.cheers

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
The reason it hasn't gotten enough attention is because it's only been here for 12 hours, and the majority of those hours are when most of the U.S. (that is, the majority of this site) is sleeping - I deleted the Lounge thread.

I'm not sure I'd buy a Mac if your primary intent is to run Windows. There are lots of lightweight laptops with long battery life that will cost less than the Macbook Pro and will run windows without having to deal with running it via Bootcamp and having possible support issues.