Quantcast

New Rider To-Be, Please Help!

schleusnerr

Chimp
Nov 29, 2013
I am somewhat new to the mountains of Montana and my interest for mountain biking is through the roof and need some advice on going in the right direction when it comes to bikes... And I'm currently bike-less. I'm 27, 6 feet tall, skinny but fit, and I eventually want to be able to climb trails for hours on end once spring comes back around. Now, I'm on a budget and I've done some browsing at pawn shops and totally saw the risks involved there. I also saw some decent "looking" bikes for cheap at Target. Am I wasting my time at a retail store or at a pawn shop? Or should I wait for the right, awesome bike at a bike shop? Craigslist for a solid brand bike maybe?

videopelli

Chimp
Jul 30, 2011
Colorado Springs, CO
You should be able to find old beaters at pawn shops with some life left in them. DO NOT buy from Wal-TarMart. The worst part about them are the components. The frames MIGHT hold up on bike paths. Do yourself a favor a go to a bike shop. The 3k$ bikes are nice to look at, but tell the salesman you're just starting out, and tell them your budget. Many times the low-end hardtail frames are the same as the higher-end frames, but with lower end components. You can upgrade parts as your skill level increases. Craigslist is a fairly good option if a) you have the finances to act quickly and b) you can dicker with the seller. Many times the seller is caught up in the emotion of 'upgrading the bike' - they think because they spent XX$ on upgrades that it should factor into the price.

galloway94

Chimp
Dec 11, 2013
Bourbonnais, IL
I'm brand new as well and my local bike shop suggested the Trek marlin as a good starter. The specs for it are on my profile but I would venture to guess that with you being taller than average the 29 inch wheels would be a plus. It ran me just under 700.

Leppah

Turbo Monkey
Mar 12, 2008
Utar