Quantcast

New to Downhill

SenorSensi

Chimp
Oct 29, 2011
Hey, this is my first post on this forum.

Im new to Downhill. Im not new to Biking, and defiantly not new to dirt. But i really want to get into it. I have no friends that do anything like it. so i dont really know were to start. i live about 2 hours away from Downieville Downhill. and when i get a job im going to buy gear, full face, chest guard, shin guards, ect. The bike i have is a Cannondale SL3 26" Hardtail. it says its "race ready" donno what that means though. what ive been doing is a short 1.5 mile single track near my house. but thats about it.

How should I get started? Like should i join a club or something? to build skills and stuff like that.
i want to be able to enter races and keep up. and now that im an adult (20) i can do stuff like that. never able to as a kid cause mom moved around alot and never had money for me to do anything like that.

ianjenn

Turbo Monkey
Sep 12, 2006
SLO
I would suggest checking local bike shops, many have group rides scheduled. Many colleges also now have cycling clubs also!

William42

fork ways
Jul 31, 2007
What to expect: