Quantcast

newbie shock tuning question

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
The last bike I rode for 8+ years was not exactly adjustable in the shock department and to keep it from bottoming I basically had to stiffen it as much as the adjustability would allow, it worked.

I have amarzocchi bomber 55. I am almost using all of the travel and the shock feels nice and smooth, the only problem I have with it, or what I want to adjust out of it is this.

It seems like my first two inches of travel is almost to soft. Though overall it feels pretty good. Is there a way to make the first inch or two stiffer? Would I increase or decrease rebound?

It appears the only choices I have are adding more air, or increasing or decreasing rebound?

Thanks.

zebrahum

Monkey
Jun 22, 2005
SL,UT
I'll be the first to admit I'm not a Marzocchi pro but is this one of the forks with a dual air valve system under one of the caps? It would help if you could ID the fork a little more carefully. They usually name the forks 55 RC3 or 55 ATA depending on the features. If you have a plain 55, there's a good chance you don't have any extra features like compression damping or negative air chamber which are what you need to fix your soft upper stroke.

kickstand

Turbo Monkey
Sep 18, 2009
Fenton, MI
I'll be the first to admit I'm not a Marzocchi pro but is this one of the forks with a dual air valve system under one of the caps? It would help if you could ID the fork a little more carefully. They usually name the forks 55 RC3 or 55 ATA depending on the features. If you have a plain 55, there's a good chance you don't have any extra features like compression damping or negative air chamber which are what you need to fix your soft upper stroke.
Marzocchi 55 Tst2

I'll be the first to admit, I love to ride bikes, but I am no techie! Trying to learn :thumb:

Last edited:

zebrahum

Monkey
Jun 22, 2005
SL,UT