Quantcast

Next project: pull up linoleum and lay tile in the kitchen

TreeSaw

Mama Monkey
Oct 30, 2003
Dancin' over rocks n' roots!
Damn girl! You are quite the fixer-upper! We've been talking about ripping up the carpeting in two rooms and putting in hardwood flooring perhaps this summer, but we need to finish the bar in the basement first ;)

I would second the use of knee pads (recommended by my brother) and do a dry run first to make sure all the tiles are correct (especially if you're going for a pattern).

N8 v2.0

Not the sharpest tool in the shed
Oct 18, 2002
The Cleft of Venus
Although it looks great, lay tile in a diamond pattern is not for the novice since a lot of cutting a required.

The most importaint thing about ceramic tile selection is the bigger the tile (within reason) the better no matter how small the room. 18_in tiles look awesome in a small space.

Mike B.

Turbo Monkey
Oct 5, 2001
State College, PA
I'm no tile expert but I've done several tiling jobs - floors, showers, etc. I could go on and on but it's best to talk with the experts at the tiling equivalent to Ridemonkey

Tilemonkey

They'll tell you to calculate the deflection of your floor before getting picking the material, etc so it's time to go to the basement to do some measuring. If you don't know exactly what is under your linoleum, tear a corner back and take a peak.

I actually really enjoy laying tile, just did a bathroom and will be doing the other bathroom and kitchen in the near future.

Oh yeah, with few exceptions don't listen to the people at Lowes or Home Depot. They'll try to sell you mastic instead of thinset and other such horrible advice.

Brian HCM#1

MMMMMMMMM BEER!!!!!!!!!!
Sep 7, 2001
Bay Area, California
Mike B. said:
I'm no tile expert but I've done several tiling jobs - floors, showers, etc. I could go on and on but it's best to talk with the experts at the tiling equivalent to Ridemonkey

Tilemonkey