Quantcast

noob question about the niche of a Trek Slash

metasepia

Chimp
Jan 18, 2012
Phoenix, AZ
Hey guys,

I am very new to downhill and this is my first post in the forum - hopefully I'm posting this in the right place. I would like some advice on my first bike purchase. I have gone on several downhill runs with other people and either ridden one borrowed bikes or rentals. I recently rode the "Whole Enchilada" on a Trek Session in Moab and had a blast. What I really want is a bike that would be able to handle the pounding of that trail but wouldn't be quite so heavy as the Session so that I could do more cross country / longer distance / off the beaten path kind of rides and then still be able to do some pretty serious downhilling. My question is whether or not this is a bridgeable compromise or whether I will get a bike which is the worst of both worlds. Obviously, I will have to make compromises on both fronts and would be willing to do so (i.e. not quite as heavy-duty as a full-on downhill bike but not as light as a touring bike). Has anyone here gone this route? Is the Trek Slash a good bike to fill this niche? could I get Slash and mod it in someway? with heavy tires for instance? -or would you do something else? Thanks so much in advance for your experience and replies - I really value tried and true experience over advertising blips on the internet...

Uncle Cliffy

Turbo Monkey
Jan 28, 2008
Southern Oregon
I think you're on the right track.

You'll have compromises in performance on either end of the spectrum. Any of the lighter big travel bikes on the market would fill what you're after. Slash, Reign X, Nomad, ect.

For me though, I just bought another bike when I could afford it. I have a 5 inch slack trail bike, and a full on DH bike. I have an Intense SS which works O.K. for both, but I don't ride it any more...

Oldm8

Chimp
Mar 12, 2011
Townsville, Australia