Quantcast

NYC Transit Strike: The best thing for bike shops

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
When I worked in a shop in the 80's, my old boss would talk about the Transit Strike of 1980 with reverence. He said every bike flew out the shop that week.

Tame Ape

BUY HOPE!!!!!!!
Mar 4, 2003
NYC
Its to bad its soooo friggin' cold though! They did cone off the bike lanes for us though. :)

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
N8 said:
Why is everyone in that photo walking their bike instead of riding it?
For every rider, there is probably 10 pedestrians trying to get to work.

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
Wouldn't bother me, because I ride a bike!
http://nytimes.com/2005/12/20/nyregion/nyregionspecial3/20cnd-strike.html?hp
M.T.A. and Union Remain Locked in Acrimonious Standoff

By JENNIFER STEINHAUER
Million of New Yorkers, shivering in their bike seats, walking at speedy clips and waving frantically at strange drivers, faced down the city's first transit strike in a quarter century today, as union officials and the state's transit authority, locked in an acrimonious standoff, battled their respective cases in court.

Confusion reigned throughout large swaths of the city, where drivers attempted to flout the police-enforced rule in Manhattan of four passengers to a vehicle before 11 a.m., extended, oddly, to taxi and livery drivers trying to make their way into Manhattan to pick up passengers.

At Jamaica Station in Queens, for instance, the station was packed with people lined up for blocks and blocks, trying to get into the station, where many trains coming from Long Island failed to stop simply because there was no room to accommodate new passengers.