Quantcast

okay, here goes... how do you manual?

jbru119

Chimp
Sep 4, 2003
Colfax, Iowa
I can't manual to save my life... I'm trying it on a XC hardtail so that may be why, but no excuses here... I must learn how and I'm not waiting for my new bike... help me out bros...

Denny

Chimp
Aug 27, 2002
Seattle, WA
1) Learn sit-down wheelies, modulating your rear brake to prevent over-rotation :)
2) When you're good enough to go downhill at any speed you want (speed up / slow down), move on to:
3) Stand up, shift the bike back and forth under you, without using the brake (except as a last resort). Moving the wheel fore and aft under your ass is how you balance in a real manual. You need to have a bike that fits; I can do it on my bmx (er, used to do it before it was stolen), but not on any "big" bikes.
4) Send me $5.

dwaugh

Turbo Monkey
May 23, 2002
Bellingham, Washington ~ U.S.A.
I swear that someone asks the same question every month. :rolleyes:

I'm still learning. I have a XC bike turned DJ bike. I can manual for a while on it. Really all that you need to do is go out an practice for a few hours at a time. Thats what do when there isnt anything else to do.

neurostar

Monkey
Sep 30, 2003
Rochester, NY or Boise, ID
Yea, lots of practice.. I used to go out into a big parking lot and just practice manualing back and forth... I still can't manual well, but I was getting better while I was doing that.

I've heard trying to do it down a gently sloping grass hill is a good way to learn..

Then again, I can't manual real well... so maybe it's best to not listen too much to what I have to say ;)

J

JRB

SkaredShtles said:
OK - I'll bite. What the hell is the definition of a "manual"? Is this some sort of new thing? :confused:

-S.S.-

Usually printed instructions bound together. Some are online now. :think: