Quantcast

one of the many reasons i will never be a bike mech....

TN

Hey baby, want a hot dog?
Jul 9, 2002
Jimtown, CO
I was just trying to get my FRDR tightened up & damn it all if I didnt fray my shifter cable....so now instead of just needing my FRDR tweaked, I need new cables.
F'it. I quit.
:help:

J

JRB

Don't quit now dude. It's a little frustration and $5. Trust me - you will learn what you need to by trial and error.

TN

Jul 9, 2002
Jimtown, CO
No I dont think so....I have been making these attempts for over the last 5 years. I just dont have the bike wrench gene.

Spunger

Git yer dumb questions here
Feb 19, 2003
Dude don't give up. I use to feel like you when I was younger, now that I have tools, time, and some patience it will all work out.

You just need a new cable and follow something like Shimano's instructions on adjusting the front der. Their instructions are pretty clear and explanitory.

Just try again, it's the only way you will learn!

Wumpus

makes avatars better
Dec 25, 2003
Six Shooter Junction
Listen to the noob*. It really isn't that hard to fray a cable. Buy a new one and fix it.

*Change you're freaking name back. Your worse than that RIP dude.

TN

Jul 9, 2002
Jimtown, CO
Spunger said:
Dude don't give up. I use to feel like you when I was younger, now that I have tools, time, and some patience it will all work out.

You just need a new cable and follow something like Shimano's instructions on adjusting the front der. Their instructions are pretty clear and explanitory.

Just try again, it's the only way you will learn!

Ok...I am no longer younger, I have the tools, the time & no matter how patient I am, everytime I put a wrench on my bike it ends up in worse shape than before (except when working on my brakes, changing cranks, pedals, tubes tires...well all the simple stuff.).

I also have "Zen & the Art of Bike Maintenance" & have read it cover to cover four times.

It is just one of those realities I need realize.

J

JRB