Ordered narrower hub spaced wheels

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by Ironjunk, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. Ironjunk

    Ironjunk Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    I just jumped on and ordered some rims with 135mm rear hub spacing for my 04 sgs. My dumbass didn't research it im not that good with sizing and stuff fitting. It seems it used 165mm hub spacing.

    Could I just shim them out or something, or is it not possible?
     
    #1 -   Jan 3, 2008

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. FrontRangeDH

    FrontRangeDH Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    15 sq. miles surrounded by reality
    YOu cannot shim out a 135 to a 150 or 165
     
    #2 -   Jan 3, 2008
  3. Jensen

    Jensen Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    UC/SLO,ca
    you can look for a hub from an older super 8? i think they were extra wide in the 165mm. could be wrong
     
    #3 -   Jan 3, 2008
  4. Ironjunk

    Ironjunk Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Haha, I think its gonna be a little harder and more expensive than I though. I think im just gonna stick with it and retire my frame and get one that fits the rims. It's a bit drastic but there is still a while till the season.

    Thanks for all suggestions I'll look into all of them
     
    #4 -   Jan 3, 2008
  5. bballe336

    bballe336 Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    MA
    DT Swiss still makes 165mm hubs and so does hadley I think.
     
    #5 -   Jan 3, 2008
  6. DIRTWRKS

    DIRTWRKS Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Location:
    Canada EH !
    Keeping that 135mm wheel is going to limit your choices for DH frames many are on 150mm spacing now !
     
    #6 -   Jan 3, 2008
  7. Eren

    Eren Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,874
    Location:
    mill creek, WA (now in Surrey UK)
    ringle abbah hub, about 100-150 bucks and comes in 165mm
     
    #7 -   Jan 3, 2008
  8. Cult Hero

    Cult Hero Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    hadley made one for the super 8 that was 165 spacing.
     
    #8 -   Jan 3, 2008
  9. Ironjunk

    Ironjunk Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    I don't need a rear hub I have rims on it already I forgot to mention sorry. I have doublewides, I dont really like them because they blew out a bead on my good michelin front tire and dont want to chance it especially since people say they bend easily also. My rear rim is also bent a little.

    I think im just gonna mount up the front and then use my current rear hub and use the azonic spokes and rim and have the shop take care of it.

    No problems with that right?
     
    #9 -   Jan 3, 2008
  10. SPINTECK

    SPINTECK Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,372
    Location:
    abc
    Quality had a cheap Dimension 150, but I don't know if they discontinued it.
     
  11. w00dy

    w00dy In heaven there is no beer

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 22
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,418
    Location:
    that's why we drink it here
    Some frames can use either a 150mm hub or a 135mm hub with a brake floater.
     
  12. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    true, but not on the SGS.

    Dimension still makes that hub. Hadley Still makes their 165 hub. as does Ringle.

    look at ebay ads, you can usually find some going for cheap. because no one can seem to sell their 165mm hub. i have a hadley wheel still, that i think is like 155, designed for a V10 i believe. but i can not get a new inner axle to change it. its made specifically for the v10. great.