Quantcast

Passing/being passed with DH racing

VT Mtbkr

Monkey
Oct 3, 2003
Richmond, Virginia
So it's my first year racing and I'm a little unsure about what the correct etiquette is with passing in a DH race. Can someone please fill me in with what is expected?

dhchix

Chimp
Mar 26, 2006
NC
VT,
I heard about your situation in the second half of the course. I know the section you were riding was very technical and rocky but there were some places for her to pull over and let you by. From what I was told she wouldn't give you chance to pass. I think the way she handled the situation was uncalled for. You caught her with a min interval between each racer. When you are yelling rider back or coming around your left or right she should have picked a place to pull over and let you by. It is not like she would have lost that much time by giving you the space to pass. I would have been pissed. I mentioned it to some of the guys and they said they would have made contact with her bike. I don't like being rude to someone but move the "F" over. :banghead:

VT Mtbkr

Monkey
Oct 3, 2003
Richmond, Virginia
I didn't really want to discuss this specific incidence because it is over and done with and it really didn't effect me as far as my placement but since you opened it up.

I'm not one to be rude or pushy and to her defense I only yelled rider back once thinking that she'd give me room when the trail allowed. I even took some terrible lines (ie longer) trying to get past her near the bottom. Well that never happened, so that's why I'm asking. Should I expect someone obviously slower them me to stop or give me room? Or should I be expected to be able to pass someone cleanly without them giving up any room in the better line? Am I expected to be pushy and rude if someone doesn't concede the trail to a faster rider?

weimie

Monkey
May 11, 2006
Boulder, CO