Quantcast

Photo Guru's....critique please

manimal

Ociffer Tackleberry
Feb 27, 2002
Blindly running into cactus
alright photo nerds. i'm just getting into the -more than basic- shooting and i'd like some critiques and advice on how i can do better.

i'm currently shooting w/ a panasonic DMC-FZ7, about the best, non SLR i could find with a lot of options. has up to ISO 1600 and i can manually adjust aperature and shutter speed. 12X zoom and some italian sounding lens ;)

anyway, i took some shots today at the playground w/ the kids and tried out some different settings. these are my best shots. i'd love to hear some professional opinions on the quality and what i can do to make them better next time.

my favorite. taken from about 30' away. iso 200, exposure -1/3, 1/80 shutter and i forgot the aperature setting.

shooting into the bright overcast sky. should i have used the hood?

no pre-focus on this one. any ideas how to freeze it better w/out pre-focus?

color ok?

another one of my fav's. i pre-focused on him before he jumped when he was at the apex of his swing, then just panned when he jumped.

let me know if you need the exact camera settings on anything.

PatBranch

Turbo Monkey
Sep 24, 2004
wine country
1. Exposure Time = 1/125"
F Number = F5.6
Exposure Program = Normal program
ISO Speed Ratings = 200

2. Exposure Time = 1/250"
F Number = F5.6
ISO Speed Ratings = 200

3. Exposure Time = 1/125"
F Number = F4.5
ISO Speed Ratings = 80

4. Exposure Time = 1/50"
F Number = F3.6
ISO Speed Ratings = 80

5. Exposure Time = 1/125"
F Number = F5.6
ISO Speed Ratings = 200

There's the exif.

On ones, like 3, if you want to freeze it better, use a faster shutter speed, and bigger aperture -lower number- (that may be your biggest aperture). You had it on 80 ISO. If you had put it up to 200 or 400, you could have a faster shutter speed, and freeze it better. I think anything above 400, there is a noticeable amount of noise.