Quantcast

photo sharing for the dumb

Skookum

bikey's is cool
Jul 26, 2002
in a bear cave
Sharing photos is a pain since i only have a limited amount of space to hold em. i don't know why this didn't occur to me before, but i was trying to get my new avatar down to a small enough file size to fit under the ridiculously small limit, and i was only succesful by making it into a .gif file and eliminating color.

That got me to thinking why not save space by just turning all the photo's i share into .gifs :clue:

i can't see the difference between these two shots, but i save 245 kb of file space. Can you tell i work in construction.:drool: :looney: :teacher:

Well i guess this is it for sharing pictures in the Lounge, see ya in the new Ride Report forum.

geargrrl

Turbo Monkey
May 2, 2002
pnw -dry side
web space is getting riduculously cheap. You can register a domain for something like $10 a year, and then hosting is cheap too, I pay $9.95 a month for something like 500 GB of web space.

skookumonline.com :weee:

BuddhaRoadkill

I suck at Tool
Feb 15, 2004
Chintimini Bog
I know it's not cool to covet another monkeys woman and all, but I think I'm in love with your bikey. :love: See the way she's got her head slightly turned away? Yeah, she likes me too. :oink:

I thought jpegs were smaller than gifs? That's what Photoshop tells me anyway.

Skookum

bikey's is cool
Jul 26, 2002
in a bear cave
splat said:
Skooks , Use photobucket , 50 MB free space to use.

also are you using any Compression on your JPGS ? for larget imagies they are usually much smaller than GIF's
Everybody tells me to use them, what's the catch to using them?

And i cannot seem to get a handle on .jpg compression, will that effect resolution vs. the amount of saved file space?

Skookum

bikey's is cool
Jul 26, 2002
in a bear cave
geargrrl said: