Quantcast

Photo Tips Part One Redux

Ridemonkey.com

News & Reviews
Jun 26, 2009

Resident professional photog Fraser Britton (Transcend) drops some tips on how to boost the quality of your ride's photographic documentation. Are point and shoots the way to go?

As a mountain bike photographer, I often get asked many questions about how I get the shots I do, how riders can make their own photos better and what equipment I use. There really is no simple answer to these questions, but in this short article I’ll try and explain some basics of why the images you get aren’t what you wanted. I’ll also briefly cover some tips that everyone can use to help them get the shots they were envisioning at the time and not the shots the ended up with.

The biggest problem most people have when taking action photos is their equipment. The proliferation of cheap digital point and shoots has been a boon for anyone who loves to take pictures, however these P&S cameras really aren’t the best for action shots for a few very simple reasons.

Shutter Lag
The biggest issue is the shutter lag. Generally, the cheaper the camera the more shutter lag will be present. This is largely due to the fact that the auto focus system in these cameras really suck, and the camera will not actually take a picture until the camera has been focused on what it thinks you want to take a picture of.

Pre-focusing your camera (usually by half pressing the button when aiming at something the same distance your subject will be at) can help alleviate this issue, but there will still be some lag.

Metering