Quantcast

Please help! Trek 4500 or Cannondale F300

marxxx

Chimp
Apr 3, 2004
Hello,

I am new to mountain bikes in general. I have been looking for a good quality entry level bike. I have looked at the trek 4300 and 4500, the gt avalanche 2.0 with disc brakes, specialized, and cannondale F300. What would you recommend.

I can get the cannondale for about the same price as the trek 4500, both of which are $100 more than the GT.

Here are some specs:

Cannondale F300
Double butted frame
Manitou axle comp Fork
Mavic X139 rims
Shimano RM-40 Hubs
IRC Mythos XC tires
Wellgo alloy cage pedals
Sugino X150 Crank
Shimano Alivio Front derailleur
Shimano Deore Rear derailleur
Shimano Alivio shifters
Ritchey SC Handlebars
Cannondale Expert Brakeset
Head set TH 1 1/8" in adapter cups
$450 for a 2003 model

Gt Avalanche 2.0GT Triple triangle 6061 butted frame
Zero stack headset
Rock Shox Judy TT Fork w/ preload adjustment
Shimano 24 spd Drivetrain w alivio rear derailleur EF 29 shifters
Shimano M-475 Mechanical Disc Brakes
Alloy ATB rims Formula disc hubs
Tioga factory extreme XC tires
$320

Trek 4500
Alpha SL Aluminum frame
Rock Shox Judy TT Fork
Alloy front hub, Shimano rear hub Matrix 750 rims
Shimano MC08 Crankset
Shimano Deore rear Derailleur
$420

Of course there are 1000 other choices. I also have a local dealer with both haro and jamis bikes. I will look at those as well, but I am strongly leaning toward the F300. This is the top of my price range right now, so I can't go any further up the ladder. I am hoping to get a good solid bike to start with that I can either replace or upgrade as needed.
I will not be doing a crazy stuff on this bike, but I assume I will do my share of trail riding as well as the occassional make your own trail...

Thanks in advance for all of your help!

marxxx

smash-itup

Chimp
Mar 25, 2004
scituate MA