Quantcast

Ponder Me This

vtjim

Beware of Milo & Otis
Jan 6, 2006
North Andover MA
I've been working out for about 3 months now. I get to the gym 4 times a week which is about all I can fit in to my schedule. I have a full time job, a two year old and an infant, so time is always an issue. I've also been taking whey powder to help build muscle.

I've been eating about 1600 to 2000 calories a day.

I went from about 171 lbs to 156 lbs in that time and then hovered around 156 and 157 for about a week and half to two weeks. The past 7 days were hectic as hell and I didn't get to the gym. In fact I ate whatever I wanted including bacon, ice cream, cake, potato chips, beer, wine etc etc. (It was great!!)

I weighed in tonight and I'm now down to 153 lbs. The scale is acurate and I got on and off just to be sure. It's also the same scale I always weigh in on at the gym and is one of those stand up kind, so I know it's acurate.

Finally getting to the point... have I not been eating enough? I wonder if I haven't been getting enough calories. Any thoughts?

reflux

Turbo Monkey
Mar 18, 2002
G14 Classified
Huh, that puts me well over 2000 calories a day, up to 2800. It's just that I've heard that by under eating you can keep yourself from losing weight.

My goal by the way is to lose fat and gain muscle.
You're right, the body has a magnificent ability to adapt depending on your diet. It'll do whatever it takes to survive, within reason of course.

On average, what's the makeup of your diet? It is my observation that we Americans tend to put too many carbs in our diets and not enough protein.

vtjim

Beware of Milo & Otis
Jan 6, 2006
North Andover MA
You're right, the body has a magnificent ability to adapt depending on your diet. It'll do whatever it takes to survive, within reason of course.

On average, what's the makeup of your diet? It is my observation that we Americans tend to put too many carbs in our diets and not enough protein.