Quantcast

Possible bike ban at Nisene, SDF

HarryCallahan

Monkey
Sep 29, 2004
SC mtns
Here's a link to a thread at Mountain bike Review about a lawsuit by the Sierra Club against State Parks over the proposed general plan for Nisene Marks State Park. If the Sierra Club prevails, it will result in a ban on mountain bikes above the steel bridge in Nisene Marks, and would also close the Aptos Creek fire road that many folks use to access the top of Soquel Demonstration Forest.

http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=54744 :help:

bikenweed

Turbo Monkey
Oct 21, 2004
Los Osos
Be sure that if you do call her, be very nice and extremely polite. I have been riding Demo and Nisene since 1997, and don't plan on stopping any time soon. My parents live less than four miles from Demo, and would hate to see Nisene get shut down due to angry riders yelling at some short-sighted Sierra Clubber. So if you do call, be as nice as possible, and PLEASE don't make the situation worse. Don't turn this into a www.safetrails.net sort of fiasco. Peace.

HarryCallahan

Monkey
Sep 29, 2004
SC mtns
Bikenweed is right. As temporarily satisfying as it would be to send this person angry messages, it would hurt access efforts.

What would be helpful is if you have friends or family in the Sierra Club, let them know how unhappy you are about this particular issue. This is the local, Monterey Bay / Santa Cruz chapter pursuing this lawsuit, not the national organization, although the locals may have national backing.

If you are so inclined, also check out <www.mbosc.org> the local club helping to keep Nisene open.

Damn True

Monkey Pimp
Sep 10, 2001
Between a rock and a hard place.
More stuff:
Subject: Help Keep Nisene (and upper Demo access) Legal to Ride!

As some of you are already aware, a recent court ruling interpreted the
original Marks deed to not include mtn bikes ANYWHERE in Nisene Marks park -
not even the Aptos Creek fire road. This means the standard route into Demo