Quantcast

Pressing on a crown race

bdamschen

Turbo Monkey
Nov 28, 2005
Spreckels, CA
How is it done? Is there a special tool or trick? I've never done this before, but I'm going to attempt one tonight so any help you guys can offer would be great.

H8R

Cranky Pants
Nov 10, 2004
How is it done? Is there a special tool or trick? I've never done this before, but I'm going to attempt one tonight so any help you guys can offer would be great.
Slide hammer. Basically a heavy pipe that slides over the steerer tube. Grease the race and the crown liberally, then thwack it till it seats. A longer pipe and a regular hammer can be used as well.

However, this can damage the face of some (most) races, so some sort of protective collar should be used between the pipe and the race. Chris King makes special collars for their races. You can use a PVC fitting in some situations.

binary visions

The voice of reason
Jun 13, 2002
NC
I just bought some PVC pipe from Home Depot that was slightly larger than my steerer tube.

Bang bang bang done.

Protect your dropouts so you don't damage them - either hang the crown off something or put something soft under the dropouts.

H8R

Cranky Pants
Nov 10, 2004
I just bought some PVC pipe from Home Depot that was slightly larger than my steerer tube.

Bang bang bang done.

Protect your dropouts so you don't damage them - either hang the crown off something or put something soft under the dropouts.
A 2x4 attached to a workbench with about 6" hanging off works well as a "saddle" to place the fork on under the crown, that way you're not applying any force to the lowers or dropouts.

Or you can just stare at the crown race intently and will it on....

peter6061

Turbo Monkey
Nov 19, 2001
Kenmore, WA