Quantcast

QR20 same as 20mm?

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by Str8Dwn, Oct 26, 2005.

  1. Str8Dwn

    Str8Dwn Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    ATL
    I have a QR20 hub for my 2002 Z1 drop off. I am looking at ordering the new Pike to replace it, but don't know if I truly need to swap the hub out for a 'normal' 20mm.

    Any ideas?
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. Dirtbike

    Dirtbike Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 2
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    594
    Location:
    eastbay
    Its the same. 20mm x 110mm
     
  3. BigMike

    BigMike BrokenbikeMike

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 0
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    8,933
    Location:
    Montgomery county MD

    Annoying sig guy is right. ;)

    The only difference is that with a "regular" 20mm hub, you bolt it on, and then there are usually pinch bolts to hold on the axle. With QR20, you bolt it on, and then there are those stupid QR handles instead of pinch bolts.

    I don't understand how its QR20, because you still have to bolt the axle together...... so its not really "quick" release
     
  4. kinghami3

    kinghami3 Future Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Ballard 4 life.
    Agreed, his sig is friggin huge, and he is right. The QR in QR20 refers to the type of 20 mm axle, so as long as the axle is 20 mm the hub will work just fine.
     
  5. skatetokil

    skatetokil Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,385
    Location:
    DC/Bluemont VA
    My qr20 set up has an actual quick release skewer running through it, so no tools required. Its significantly less of a pain in the ass than the axle with the allen wrench bolts. but yes, same hubs work.
     
  6. Kntr

    Kntr Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 20
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,536
    Location:
    Montana
    He was asking about the hub......

    QR20 HUBS are different! If you are refering to the Zoke QR20 hub, the axle does NOT come out of the hub and the hub will not work with a 20mm through axle.

    Post a pic of the hub.
     
  7. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    this is true

    zoke changed their hubs in 2002

    pic please
     
  8. kinghami3

    kinghami3 Future Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,241
    Location:
    Ballard 4 life.
    there is a QR20 Hub? This I did not know. pics please
     
  9. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    just for marzocchi forks.
     
  10. mandown

    mandown Poopdeck Repost

    Rep/Likes:
    270 / 938
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,416
    Location:
    Transylvania 90210
    the current pics up on go-ride.com


    not sure what the older ones look like.
     
  11. DS Dom

    DS Dom Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2001
    Messages:
    213
    Location:
    Denver, Co
    it seems like everyone is mixing up QR20 and QR20plus ... QR 20 had a proprietary hub/axle setup, while QR20plus uses a normal 20mm axle and hub with the little flaps that we have all grown to love
     
  12. mandown

    mandown Poopdeck Repost

    Rep/Likes:
    270 / 938
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    13,416
    Location:
    Transylvania 90210
    that's right! i had an old QR20 hub on a 2000 Z1 (i think that was the year). you could not get that axle outta there. thanks for jogging the memory.
     
  13. DHS

    DHS Friendly Neighborhood Pool Boy

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Location:
    Sand, CA
    thanks Dom. i forgot the name.
    will you be at diabloween kicking everyone ass in the dj contest?
     
  14. Str8Dwn

    Str8Dwn Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    ATL
    Now I am all confused. Is the hub pictured above a QR20 Plus or QR20? It looks exactly like the one I have.

    This is the best pic I have of the fork/hub.
     
  15. Kntr

    Kntr Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 20
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,536
    Location:
    Montana
    Take the wheel off and see if you can remove the axle.

    If you can remove the axle it is the PLUS.

    If you can NOT remove the axle it is the Zoke QR20.
     
  16. Turd Ferguson

    Turd Ferguson Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Burbank
    Old QR20 hub:

     
  17. Kntr

    Kntr Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 20
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,536
    Location:
    Montana
    There you have it folks, a pic of my ol Zoke hub. Thanks Turd.
     
  18. Str8Dwn

    Str8Dwn Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    ATL
    Thanks everyone for helping me clarify which one I have. I definitely have the QR20 Plus, which means I can order that new Pike 454! Yippee!!! The case has been solved.
     
  19. Kntr

    Kntr Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 20
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,536
    Location:
    Montana
    Is there anyway to remove the axle on a Zoke QR20 hub?
     
  20. H8R

    H8R Cranky Pants

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 4
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Messages:
    13,983
    An older one?

    Yes - but it means tapping out the bearing with it, which will have to be pressed back in.
     
  21. Kntr

    Kntr Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    5 / 20
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    7,536
    Location:
    Montana
    Ya the old QR20?

    Some people dont believe that there was ever a QR20mm hub that only worked with old Zokes and the flat style lowers.
     
  22. Mudpuppy

    Mudpuppy Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    6 / 0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2001
    Messages:
    448
    Location:
    Port Orchard/Not WSU
    Yeah, it's pretty easy actually, like H8R said.

    You just take the set screws out of the parts that are outboard of the bearings. Then take those out and foce the axle out one side or the other. Then put the bearing back in place. You hold all the pieces together when you insert the regular 20mm axle and it all works. I can post pictures of mine taken apart if anyone is interested...
     
  23. Turd Ferguson

    Turd Ferguson Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    3 / 0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Burbank

    Dew it!