Quantcast

Question for electricians out there

luken8r

Monkey
Mar 5, 2004
Melrose MA
What does it take to upgrade a house's wiring from fuses to cirucit breakers? Is it just a matter of changing the box or does the house need to be rewired?
Im looking to buy a house that was built in 1941 with fuses still in it. If we buy it, I would want to upgrade that to breakers, what would something like that run me?

pixelninja

Turbo Monkey
Jun 14, 2003
Denver, CO
I'm not an electrician, but my house has fuses and we looked into changing over to breakers.

If I remember correctly, the quotes we got ranged from $2500 to $4000. I live in Denver.

You would not need to rewire the entire house, but you would be required to hire a professional electrician to do it, since the city will need to cut the power to your house from outside and you'll need permits and all that crap.

luken8r

Monkey
Mar 5, 2004
Melrose MA
pixelninja said:
I'm not an electrician, but my house has fuses and we looked into changing over to breakers.

If I remember correctly, the quotes we got ranged from $2500 to $4000. I live in Denver.

You would not need to rewire the entire house, but you would be required to hire a professional electrician to do it, since the city will need to cut the power to your house from outside and you'll need permits and all that crap.
well if we do buy this joint, it will be for a rehab and resell. its in a really nice town with houses averaging 500k+ but this one is in need of some upgrading. we are going to check it out tonight to see what it looks like. i was thinking to get it, fix up the kitchen, repaint, landscape, etc and turn a nice profit. so with all that, the 2-3k isnt *too* bad. the wiriring is only 60 yrs old so its not *too* old. hell, the wiring in my parents house is over 100 years old and it hasnt burnt down yet!

Mike B.

Turbo Monkey
Oct 5, 2001
State College, PA