Quantcast

Racing?

Ice Bullit

Monkey
Mar 16, 2003
Seattle, WA
I was thinking about racing for the first time at the Chelan race, how is the course? Is it super technical with lots of chutes and rock gardens or is it nice and flowy? I know there was word about there being a new trail but does anyone have any information about that?

Also since this is my first time racing do you have any advice like riding stratagies? What kind of gear do you recomend (Full face obviously) but do you think full body armor is nessisary?

Thanks for any help :)

Monkey
Jul 17, 2003
east of Seattle
Chelan is high speed and dusty. There are some rocks and maybe enough in the same area to call it a garden. Last years course had a couple jumps. For me the hardest part of the course is holding the off camber, dusty corners.

This course is super fun. It's not technical. When I first raced the course and had just begun racing, i was hoping for techy courses like the freeriding i had done at the shore and similar. Then I started racing and did the Chelan and was disappointed. But since then I have found different challenges in the game. It pushed my limits last year and it's going to again this year.

Bring what ever gear you are comfortable riding in. Don't sacrifice your health for a better shot at the podium. Wait until you are pro.

MMike

A fowl peckerwood.
Sep 5, 2001
just sittin' here drinkin' scotch
Body armour is only a good idea if you think that there's a possibility that you might crash.

Like car insurance. If you feel that you're never going to get into an accident, then it's just a waste of money right?

DHRacer

The Rev
Oct 8, 2001
chelan is fast and dusty... not like Spokane with all the jumps and drops though.

Monkey
Jul 17, 2003
east of Seattle
Originally posted by Ice Bullit
What tire PSI would you run, a higer or lower for the dust?

some, then if you slide, let some out, if it rolls, put some back (I like to start around26 then let some out after the first run)