Quantcast

Rear derailleur for 5s setup

Discussion in 'Downhill & Freeride' started by HAB, Aug 11, 2013.

  1. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    So I want to try a 5 speed setup on my DH bike. I don't need more range than a road cassette, but would rather have bigger jumps between gears. I just don't need 9 or 10. I've been running an old DuraAce RD, and after 6(?) years on my DH bike it's pretty trashed. I've got another Sram shifter derailleur setup, but the way the limit screws are arranged, it doesn't work to just put the low limit screw way in to accommodate the 5 speed arrangement. The DA is good on this front, but it's beat to ****. So I need a new derailleur. I'm thinking ideally I'll get a 10s Shimano, either a Zee or a Saint, and do the cable clamp plate trick to run it with the X.0 9 speed shifter I already have, but I'd rather make sure it'll work with the limit screw in before I buy one. Anyone tried this?
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. HardtailHack

    HardtailHack used an iron once

    Rep/Likes:
    12 / 131
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,199
    What's a DA?
     
  3. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    DuraAce.
     
  4. nmn25

    nmn25 Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 1
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    portland or co springs
    longer set screws from ace or fastenal?
     
  5. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    Won't work. The geometry of the parallelogram is such that the tab that engages the set screw isn't even in line with the screw until it's near the normal limit.
     
  6. HardtailHack

    HardtailHack used an iron once

    Rep/Likes:
    12 / 131
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,199
    Thread a nut on the end of the screw?
     
  7. EVIL JN

    EVIL JN Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 17
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    488
    Maybe if both limit screws are used? So you move the block more to the middle of the freehub.
     
  8. Sandwich

    Sandwich Pig my fish!
    Staff Member

    Rep/Likes:
    68 / 831
    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    15,618
    Location:
    01776
    8 speed?
     
  9. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    Nope, in that far it'll interfere with the derailleur motion entirely.

    I want to run an 11t.

    I want to use newer stuff than that, plus I already have a couple good 9s shifters. Plus that doesn't give me nearly the jumps I want. Current plan is 11-13-16-20-25.

    Thanks for the suggestions though.
     
    #9 -   Aug 12, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2013
  10. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    So to simplify this, does anyone with a Zee or Saint clutch derailleur know if it's possible to block the derailleur into the middle of its range on the low end?
     
  11. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    Buller?
     
  12. HardtailHack

    HardtailHack used an iron once

    Rep/Likes:
    12 / 131
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,199
    Could you just mod the shifter so it won't move past a certain point?
    I messed with my older Saint shifter to limit it to one click per push, shouldn't be hard to put a stopper on the shifting plate thingy.
     
  13. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    That's worth looking into. Thanks.
     
  14. HardtailHack

    HardtailHack used an iron once

    Rep/Likes:
    12 / 131
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,199
    Probably wouldn't hold and may cause the cable to snap after a while, dunno if it would be worth a shot........

     
  15. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    For the record, a Saint 820 works with a longer set screw swapped in.
     
  16. Gary

    Gary "S" is for "neo-luddite"

    Rep/Likes:
    44 / 683
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,647
    Location:
    UK
    This makes me think you're probably running a 36-38T ring


    In which case...
    Makes no sense to me, ie. why would you want a 25T cassette sprocket on a DH bike? Do you ride it UPHILL too?

    Also, why don't you just use another old Dura Ace or Ultegra mech?
     
    #16 -   Sep 1, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2013
  17. HAB

    HAB Chelsea from Seattle

    Rep/Likes:
    81 / 805
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,448
    Location:
    Seattle
    I'm running a 36t ring. Some trails have short uphill sections. Sometimes I'm just pedaling to the lift line, but I'm lazy. I do use the 25 sometimes.


    I figured if I was going to buy a new derailleur to make this happen it might as well be one of the newfangled clutch ones. they're pretty nifty.