Remote Access Question

Discussion in 'Computers & Technology' started by firemandivi, Jan 10, 2008.

  1. firemandivi

    firemandivi They drank my Tooters

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    a state called denial
    What program do you use to remotely access your work and/or home computer. Are there any free ones that are good?
     

    Please register to disable this ad.

  2. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    79 / 329
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,606
    Location:
    NC
    VNC. There are various flavors and types. I use UltraVNC. I've also used TightVNC which is very good as well.

    Only thing you have to remember or make sure is done is you have to pass the remote access port through your router to your PC.
     
  3. firemandivi

    firemandivi They drank my Tooters

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    a state called denial
    Thanks for the help
    Do you have any problems with security with UltraVNC?
    At work we go from a router to a switch, at home I have a wireless router.
     
  4. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    175 / 1,181
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,738
    VNC is insecure as it is, but is secure when tunneled over ssh:

    set up your home wireless router to only pass port 22 (ssh) to your home computer. ssh from your work machine to the home machine, tunneling port 5900 as you do so. then use VNC over ssh. voila.

    http://www.google.com/search?q=tunn...ls=com.google:en-US:official&client=firefox-a

    Cliffs Notes:
    1. set up router to forward port 22
    2. ssh -L 5900:localhost:5900 myhomerouter'sIPaddressgoeshere
    3. connect to localhost:5900 in your VNC client of choice

    (read the google hits linked above if this doesn't make sense.)
     
  5. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    79 / 329
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,606
    Location:
    NC
    I don't have much in the way of security issues because I don't allow external connections (outside of my LAN).

    To get to your work computer from home, you'd need to get your IT department to open up a port in the firewall unless you have your own external IP (unlikely, and also unlikely that they'll be willing to open up a port for you unless it's a very small company).

    To connect to home from work you just need to follow these instructions in forwarding a port through your wireless router.
     
  6. binary visions

    binary visions The voice of reason

    Rep/Likes:
    79 / 329
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,606
    Location:
    NC
    Also, UltraVNC has an encryption plugin to encrypt the data stream and make it more secure.
     
  7. Toshi

    Toshi Harbinger of Doom

    Rep/Likes:
    175 / 1,181
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,738
    i trust OpenSSH's maintainers a whole lot more than those of UltraVNC. when ssh works why try to supplant it? :)

    also, with regard to connecting to work i actually came across a pretty solid way around firewalls -- you probably saw the earlier thread, where $tinkle actually provided serious advice, etc.:

    step 1:
    workcomputer> ssh -R 2222:localhost:2222 homecomputerIP

    step 2 (note that we're sshing to the tunnel on localhost!):
    homecomputer> ssh -p 2222 -L 5900:localhost:5900 localhost

    step 3:
    VNC from homecomputer to localhost:5900

    awesome, eh? :D
     
  8. firemandivi

    firemandivi They drank my Tooters

    Rep/Likes:
    0 / 0
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    784
    Location:
    a state called denial
    My office is very small, basically I'm the IT guy because I know more about computers than anyone else here. As I see it, our internet comes in from the DSL modem goes to a wireless router to a switch to out individual computers. The switch gives out the IP address. again thanks for the help
     
  9. syadasti

    syadasti i heart mac

    Rep/Likes:
    64 / 291
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    12,859
    Location:
    VT
    Yes, this is the way to go or you can buy a router with a VPN server and you don't have to do anything as long as nobody on your LAN wants to middleman your VNC session and steal your info in transit:D If you have a VPN you can also use RDP which in the current generation (6) is now more secure than it use to be but you need current RDP on both client and server. Any remote access protocol that is only encrypted can be middleman'd if its not authenticated (prior to RDP 6 there was no authentication)

    If you want to pay for a service (from Citrix), Gotomypc usually works even with firewalls in place as it routes over port 80 or 443 and its secured using SSL w/128-bit AES.
     
  10. WhoRyder

    WhoRyder Turbo Monkey

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,835
    Location:
    NYC
    VPN then either Dameware/RDC/VNC
     
  11. viper2pt0

    viper2pt0 Chimp

    Rep/Likes:
    4 / 0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Somers, NY
    I'm surprised no one mentioned www.logmein.com I've been using it for a few years now and its works great.