Quantcast

rhyno lyte wheels??

jordan2hundy

Chimp
Sep 19, 2008
Hello,
i am new to mtbs...i have ridden motocross for years so this was an easy transition. i just picked up a built super-v off my buddy for $200. He built the bike back in 98 for downhill and it's awesome but a touch dated. i am looking to upgrade a few things. i plan on upgrading the blownout manitou 2 fork, adding disc brakes and some new wheels.

i had a few questions--

i bent the rear mavic rim jumping the bike. i am curious if the ryno lyte rims that i see online are decnt replacements?? they claim to be tough and they are cheap. weight is obviously not an issue as the bike weights a ton and i'm used to muscling 200lbs machines. has anybody tried these wheels? do they hold up?

also i am curious if disc brakes can be added to the rear end of a super-v? the rear swing arm is a super active? the bike currently has avid v-brakes.

i am an absolute noob so any help is appreicated

ultraNoob

Yoshinoya Destroyer
Jan 20, 2007
Hills of Paradise
Welcome to the monkey and welcome to the sport. Rhyno lites are pretty burly but I've see those fail as well. IMHO... if you're already jumping the bike, your best upgrade should be a bike that vastly surpasses your current riding level (which from what it sounds, is not the normal mtb noob level).

The reason I say that is, you're coming from a Moto background. So I'd assume you already have your cornering mechanics down and know how to "let the suspension do it's job". Most people that I know who transition from Moto to MTB whether it be DH/XC have skillsets that increase very quickly which means that your skills will quickly surpass the limits of that bike.

We're talking about this bike right?

Last edited:

SquadraCorse

Monkey
Jul 25, 2007
Ridgefield CT