Quantcast

Riding with contacts?

DirtMcGirk

<b>WAY</b> Dumber than N8 (to the power of ten alm
Feb 21, 2008
Oz
How many of you ride with contacts in? This whole glasses thing is starting to suck in new ways, but I can't see well enough to ride without them.

Anything I need to be aware of?

Know it comes off like a dumb question, but I'd like to be able to see.

Any thoughts on how they'd work for field sports like rugby? It'd be killer to be able to see the ball in high def when I am playing.

sanjuro

Tube Smuggler
Sep 13, 2004
SF
I have but I feel like I always need to wear glasses, sun or safety.

I know when I ride motos, after 25mph I can't see well unless I have a full face on.

mandown

Poopdeck Repost
Jun 1, 2004
Transylvania 90210
tried once at whistler with full face and goggles with fail results. the air flow through the goggle vent made them dry right out and peel off mid-run.

Raingauge

Monkey
Apr 3, 2008
Canadia
I've been wearing them for 15 years for sports. I'll never go back to glasses.

I usually wear goggles when I ride for the wind. It wasn't a problem until I started wearing disposable contacts. The non-disposable ones were great but if your riding and drop one in the parking lot you're screwed. If you have disposables you just pop a new one in.

When I was playing football (the american type) it made a huge difference in peripheral view. I didn't have to guess where the ball was going to be. The optometrist said my head could deform from a hit and they wouldn't pop out. Unless you're getting eye gouged in rugby I'd say you'll be ok.

I'm also pretty much blind though -6.5 in one eye and -6.0 in the other. I can't even read the alarm clock from my bed.

Last edited:

Arkayne

I come bearing GIFs
May 10, 2005
SoCal
I almost always ride with my contacts on. If it's sunny I'll wear shades. If it's a night-ride, I'll use clear lenses.