Quantcast

Risse champ: need opinions/experiences

Rik

Turbo Monkey
Nov 6, 2001
Sydney, Australia
Let's try and avoid being silly with jokes about the company, and I know that the fork is probably flexy, too tall, has leaky seals and will rattle my hands off the bars (only with boxxer upgrade kit though).
But apart from that, being serious for a minute, if possible...

I'm looking at buying a new fork soon, and have seen a Risse Champ 7" model going for a decent price. I've no experience with these units, you don't see many around here. So opinions please, on the following:

What are they like in general, in terms of ride quality and build quality? Any chassis or damping issues to note?
Another thing, which is pretty major to me: How service-friendly are they? And is there any chance that the seals are a "common" seal size (ie, moto fork). Australia is fairly remote when it comes to things like parts availability and whatnot, so this is probably going to be the key factor.
Just as a benchmark, I've come off an 02 SuperT, and apart from small chassis dramas (zomg flexy!) it felt pretty damn awesome, and the ability to work on it easily made it even better... so comparing the Champ to that would be good if possible. The price its going for is on par with Boxxer Race's, so it seems to be pretty good compared to them. To put it this way: buying it will be somewhat of a gamble, but will it pay off?

All help is welcome, thanks in advance....

ncrider

Turbo Monkey
Aug 15, 2004
Los Angeles
Ahh, the risse champ. On the plus side the fork is very owner friendly, customer service is great, you get cool looking carbon fork guards, I've never ever heard of someone breaking a champand and once you put in at least 10wt oil you will have some range of dampening to play with.

On the negative side, it freakin way heavy (12-14lbs can't remember exactly), seals blow out first ride, seals blow out first ride, seals blow out first ride, seals blow out first ride, you get the hint.