Quantcast

Roadie pain

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
We did 51 miles yesterday. My legs were fine and I could have done another 25. The pain was in my neck and shoulders. My deltoids got very tired and sore, and my neck got pretty stiff too. My deltoid endurance has gotten better this year, but I was still pretty darn tired at the end of the ride. Is it possible my handlebar is the incorrect width, or is this stricty a problem with my riding form and muscle stamina?

DBR X6 RIDER

Turbo Monkey
I wasn't there, so I'm not sure what to tell you.;)
Under the assumption that you weren't in the same riding position for the entire ride, I'd say it could be the bars. It could also be a stem length/sizing issue. Then again, you may have crappy form and/or posture. See how it goes on your next ride. It could be a one-time thing. If it happens again, I'd be concerned.

*disclaimer*
I'm not a professional trainer, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.
:)

MMcG

Ride till you puke!
Dec 10, 2002
Burlington, Connecticut
My feet started to hurt on this same ride - right where my cleats are on my shoes. Is that a fact of using mtb cleats, shoes, pedals vs. road ones? Or is it because my shoes are a few years old and losing strength/stiffness?

Everything else felt good for the 50 miler, but if I had to ride say a 75 miler or a century, I'm not sure my feet could have handled it. :help:

I Are Baboon

The Full Dopey
Aug 6, 2001
MTB New England
MMcG said:
My feet started to hurt on this same ride - right where my cleats are on my shoes. Is that a fact of using mtb cleats, shoes, pedals vs. road ones? Or is it because my shoes are a few years old and losing strength/stiffness?

Everything else felt good for the 50 miler, but if I had to ride say a 75 miler or a century, I'm not sure my feet could have handled it. :help: